From the Right



Liberate DC Children From Government Schools

Terence P. Jeffrey on

In the 2018-2019 school year, the government-run schools in Washington, D.C., beat the government-run schools in every state in the union in at least one measurable category: They spent the most money per pupil.

That year, according to Table 236.75 published by the National Center for Education Statistics, the public elementary and secondary schools in our nation's capital spent a total of $29,925 per pupil.

None of the 50 states came close to that.

New York came in second place in the 2018-2019 school year with $26,799 in per pupil spending -- $3,126 behind the District of Columbia.

Connecticut placed third ($22,831); New Jersey placed fourth ($22,814); and Vermont placed fifth ($21,982).

This month, the NCES published a new report on the revenues and expenditures of public elementary and secondary schools in the 2019-2020 school year. This report, however, did not specifically present the total per pupil spending for public schools in each of the states and the District of Columbia.


But it did list the "state, local, and federal revenues per pupil" utilized in each of the states and the District of Columbia. In this category, the public schools in the nation's capital once again placed first with $30,082 in revenues per pupil. New York again placed second with $29,422 per pupil.

The national average was $15,711.

This new report also noted that in the District of Columbia in the 2019-2020 school year, the total "expenditures for public elementary and secondary education" were $2,862,000,000. These expenditures included what the report called the "current expenditures for public elementary/secondary education" as well as spending on construction, land and existing structures, equipment, interest on the debt and other programs.

The District of Columbia's public schools, according to the report, had 89,878 students in the 2019-2020 school year. Thus, their $2,862,000,000 in total spending worked out to $31,843 per pupil.


swipe to next page
Copyright 2022 Creators Syndicate, Inc.


blog comments powered by Disqus


Michael Ramirez Mike Smith Joey Weatherford John Branch Taylor Jones Lisa Benson