Current News



Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2024 inductees include Peter Frampton, Cher, Ozzy Osbourne, Mary J. Blige

George Varga, The San Diego Union-Tribune on

Published in News & Features

After failing to even be nominated in previous years, Cher, Peter Frampton, Foreigner, Ozzy Osbourne and Kool & The Gang will all be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s class of 2024, alongside repeat nominees Mary J. Blige, Dave Matthews Band and hip-hop innovators A Tribe Called Quest.

In a novel move, Frampton encouraged concertgoers to vote for him during his April 14 show at The Shell in San Diego by having the QR code for the ballot projected onto the large video screen behind him on stage.

Five other artists who were also on the ballot for the first time this year did not earn enough votes to be inducted, specifically, Oasis, Lenny Kravitz, Sadé, Mariah Carey and Sinéad O’Connor, who died last July. Also failing to make the cut for induction were two repeat nominees — Jane’s Addiction and the hip-hop duo Erik B. & Rakim.

This year’s inductees were announced during Sunday night’s telecast of “American Idol” by Lionel Richie, a 2022 hall inductee, and show host Ryan Seacrest. The list of 2024 honorees also includes six artists who will receive the hall’s Musical Excellence and Musical Influence awards, two categories that are chosen by the hall’s in-house committees.

The 2024 Musical Excellence Award honorees include Dionne Warwick, Norman Whitfield, Jimmy Buffett (who died last September from cancer) and the pioneering Detroit proto-punk-rock band MC5, whose leader, Wayne Kramer, died of cancer Feb. 2. The final iteration of the group, which included San Diego guitarist Stevie Salas playing alongside fellow guitarist Kramer, toured in 2022.

MC5 had been nominated for induction in six previous years but did not earn enough votes to gain induction. Buffett, whose final concert of his career with his Coral Reefer Band took place last May at San Diego’s Snapdragon Stadium, was never nominated.


This year’s Musical Influence Award honorees include England’s John Mayall and the late Alexis Korner, who in the 1960s jointly spearheaded the blues boom in the UK that fueled the launching of such bands as the Rolling Stones, Yardbirds, Fleetwood Mac and Cream. At 90, Mayall appears to be the oldest of this year’s hall honorees.

The third 2024 Musical Influence Award honoree is the late Big Mama Thornton, whose galvanizing recordings of the songs “Hound Dog” and “Ball and Chain” greatly influenced the subsequent versions of those songs by, respectively, Elvis Presley and Janis Joplin.

Artists become eligible for nomination 25 years after the release of their first recording and are honored for their “originality, impact and influence.” Ballots are cast by the hall’s more than 1,000 voting members, which include previous inductees and an array of music industry professionals, including this writer.

In 2013, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame introduced it “fan vote,” in which the top five nominees that fans vote online for are submitted as one official ballot that is counted with the rest of the Voting Committee’s. The quantitative impact of the fans’ choices is minimal — accounting for about 0.3 percent of the total — but creates a fair amount of buzz.


swipe to next page

©2024 The San Diego Union-Tribune. Visit Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.


blog comments powered by Disqus