Lightning win Game 5 in overtime to advance to second round

By Diana C. Nearhos, Tampa Bay Times on

Published in Hockey

The Lightning and Blue Jackets gave everyone flashbacks as they headed into overtime in Game 5 of their first-round series on Wednesday afternoon. When they needed more than three periods back in Game 1, it eventually took more than 150 minutes to decide the winner.

This time it only took about five minutes, and Brayden Point came through again.

The Lightning took a 2-0 lead in the first period at Toronto's Scotiabank Arena. But they squandered it as they took six penalties, then came back to force the extra period.

Tyler Johnson scored first, tipping Erik Cernak's shot 5:38 into the game for his third goal of the postseason. Blake Coleman added another a minute later - his first since joining the Lightning in February. The Lightning seemed to be off to the races, headed for the second round.

Columbus wasn't going anywhere, though. The Blue Jackets responded to the deficit by coming on harder. Lightning goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy made an impressive poke check on Riley Nash, but Zach Bogosian slashed Nash on the play. Nick Foligno scored one second after the penalty expired.

Kevin Stenlund tied the score with a power-play goal midway through the second period. Alexander Wennberg put Columbus on top with 15 seconds left in the frame.


Oliver Bjorkstrand scored his third of the series to put the Blue Jackets ahead by two midway through the third. Jon Cooper challenged the goal, a somewhat unconventional move for a coach who prefers to save challenges for near-guarantees. After the game, Point suggested killing off the ensuing penalty kill gave the team a boost.

Kevin Shattenkirk breathed more life into the Lightning with a goal on a rocket from above the right circle 30 seconds after the kill.

Anthony Cirelli tied it up with 1:38 to play, on a shot Point banked off his skate just in front of the crease.

Visit the Tampa Bay Times (St. Petersburg, Fla.) at

(c)2020 Tampa Bay Times (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.