Tom Brady named MVP for third time; Sean McVay beats Doug Pederson for coach of the year

Marc Narducci, The Philadelphia Inquirer and Daily News on

Published in Football

MINNEAPOLIS -- The night before he seeks a sixth Super Bowl title against the Eagles, New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady earned his third MVP award.

Brady, who is a little busy at this point, didn't attend the NFL Honors show staged at the University of Minnesota on Saturday.

This year the 40-year-old Brady completed 66.3 percent of his passes for 4,577 yards, 32 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He had a 102.8 passer rating.

Brady also won the MVP award for the 2007 and 2010 seasons.

The MVP is among the eight awards conducted by the Associated Press, which serves as the official NFL awards.

The other seven AP award winners were:

--Sponsored Video--

Defensive player of the year: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams tackle.

Offensive player of the year: Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams running back.

Coach of the year: Sean McVay, Los Angeles Rams

Comeback player of the year: Keenan Allen, Los Angeles Chargers receiver.


swipe to next page


blog comments powered by Disqus

Social Connections


Dustin Curtis Spectickles Mutts Beetle Bailey Mike Luckovich