NASCAR names 2019 Hall of Fame nominees

Brendan Marks, The Charlotte Observer on

Published in Auto Racing

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- To date, 45 men have been inducted into NASCAR's Hall of Fame. Five more will be inducted in 2019 -- and on Tuesday, we learned the names of the 20 men vying for those spots.

Headlined by four-time Cup Series champion Jeff Gordon, the 2019 nominees also include team owner Joe Gibbs, Dale Earnhardt's former crew chief Kirk Shelmerdine, and several other notable names. Only five of the men, including Gordon, are first-time nominees.

The five inductees for the 2019 class will be announced later this year and inducted in January 2019.

Here is the full list of nominees, including a brief bio for each candidate:

-- Jeff Gordon: Four-time Cup Series champion; won a modern-era record 13 wins in 1998; three Daytona 500 wins.

-- Davey Allison: 19 Cup Series wins, including the 1992 Daytona 500; 1987 Cup Series Rookie of the Year; died in a helicopter accident in 1993.

Sponsored Video Stories from LifeZette

-- Buddy Baker: 19 Cup Series wins, including the 1980 Daytona 500; longtime NASCAR TV and radio analyst.

-- Red Farmer: Three-time Late Model Sportsman champion; 1956 Modified champion.

-- Ray Fox: Legendary engine builder who also won 14 races as an owner; worked with Junior Johnson, David Pearson and other legendary drivers.

-- Harry Gant: Won four consecutive races in September 1991 to earn the nickname 'Mr. September'; oldest driver to win a race (52) and pole (54).


swipe to next page


blog comments powered by Disqus