Randy Moss crowns career with Pro Football Hall of Fame honor

Mark Craig, Star Tribune (Minneapolis) on

Published in Football

MINNEAPOLIS -- First-ballot, homeboy!

Randy Moss, the mercurial, enigmatic, self-proclaimed "SuperFreak" who re-energized the Vikings' entire franchise in 1998, is heading to Canton, Ohio, as a first-ballot Pro Football Hall of Famer. Of 27 modern-era receivers, Moss is only the sixth to make it in his first year of eligibility and only the second this century after Jerry Rice (2010).

Following a 36-minute discussion in which the consistency of Moss' work ethic was weighed closely against his 156 touchdown catches and once-in-forever skill set, Moss survived the scrutiny of 47 selectors during an 8-hour, 15-minute meeting at the airport Marriott in Bloomington on Saturday.

Meanwhile, former Vikings guard Steve Hutchinson made the cut from 15 to 10 modern-era finalists, but was eliminated in the cut to five in what was his first year of eligibility.

Joining Moss in the Class of 2018 are senior committee candidates Robert Brazille and Jerry Kramer; contributors candidate Bobby Beathard; fellow first-ballot linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher; safety Brian Dawkins and receiver Terrell Owens, whose 45-minute discussion softened considerably from his first two years as a finalist.

Others who made the cut from 15 to 10 were: offensive tackle Tony Boselli, guard Alan Faneca, cornerback Ty Law, and center Kevin Mawae. Eliminated were: receiver Isaac Bruce, offensive tackle Joe Jacoby, running back Edgerrin James, safety John Lynch and cornerback Everson Walls.

The selectors were then asked to trim that list to five. Eliminated in that round were: Boselli, Faneca, Hutchinson, Law and Mawae.

Hutchinson was one of five offensive linemen discussed. Only Jacoby, in his last year of eligibility as a modern-era candidate, didn't make the final 10. No linemen advanced, creating a continuing logjam at the position next year, when safety Ed Reed and tight end Tony Gonzalez further cloud the field by becoming eligible.

The last time two non-quarterbacks at the same position were in the same class was 1983.

For Moss, the football journey is complete.


swipe to next page


blog comments powered by Disqus