Three-time Cup Series champion Tony Stewart headlines 2020 NASCAR Hall of Fame class

Brendan Marks, The Charlotte Observer on

Published in Auto Racing

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Another year, another surefire lock spearheading NASCAR's newest Hall of Fame class.

The Hall of Fame announced its 2020 class on Wednesday, headlined by three-time Cup Series champion Tony Stewart. He will be inducted alongside team owner Joe Gibbs, engine builder and crew chief Waddell Wilson, and drivers Buddy Baker and Bobby Labonte.

Stewart, like Jeff Gordon in last year's class, was largely considered a lock, and he garnered 88% of the vote. Stewart won 49 races at NASCAR's highest level over his 17-year career, including two Brickyard 400s. He now continues to stay heavily involved with the sport as a co-owner at Stewart-Haas Racing.

"It's very humbling for sure," Stewart said. "To me it's even way bigger than us getting in -- it's the fact that the guy who really was responsible for getting me to Joe Gibbs Racing, Bobby Labonte, and getting Coach in as well ...

"There was that sense of pride obviously when (former NASCAR president) Mike Helton called my name. At the same time, it's fun to sit there and share that moment and know how much that's going to mean to Joe and Bobby and to Waddell ... To be able to share that moment with these guys is something that I'm more excited and proud about."

Gibbs' entry is his second in a professional sports Hall of Fame. He was also inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1996 as a three-time Super Bowl-winning head coach with Washington. The four-time Cup Series champion also represents something of a sweep with the 2020 class, as both Stewart and Labonte won their Cup titles while driving for "Coach."


"Well obviously it's a thrill for me," Gibbs said, "and what you think about when something like this happens is, I get pushed out front, but I think about all the people that built the race team and are a part of this.

"I think about the people, and I'm so thankful."

Labonte now joins his brother Terry, who was inducted in 2016. He won the 2000 premier series title in addition to 21 wins at NASCAR's highest level. Labonte also won an Xfinity Series championship.

Then there's Wilson, whose legend as both a crew chief and engine builder helped guide some of NASCAR's best-ever drivers. Wilson helped David Pearson and Benny Parsons on the way to their respective Cup Series championships, not to mention his work with Fireball Roberts, Bobby Allison, Cale Yarborough, and Darrell Waltrip. The "Grey Ghost" car he built for Buddy Baker still holds the Daytona 500 record with an average speed of 177.602 miles per hour.


swipe to next page


blog comments powered by Disqus

Social Connections


Nick Anderson David M. Hitch Rugrats Andy Capp Arctic Circle Dennis the Menace