Current News



Which House members voted against their leadership on the budget deal

Lindsey McPherson, CQ-Roll Call on

Published in News & Features

The 36-member, hard-right House Freedom Caucus, per an official position it took against the bill, largely voted against it, with roughly 27 voting "no." (The Freedom Caucus does not publish its membership roster so it's difficult to determine an exact count, although most members of the group are known).

Republican Study Committee Chairman Mark Walker about two dozen other members of that group -- several Republicans are in both the Freedom Caucus and RSC -- also opposed the measure.

More surprisingly, four members of the moderate Tuesday Group voted "no:" Reps. Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington, Tom Reed of New York, James B. Renacci of Ohio and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of Florida.

"It's going down the path of uncontrolled spending that continues to add to our national debt," Reed said in a YouTube video explaining his vote.

While Reed said he ran for Congress in 2010 to fix the debt crisis, he was one of the tax writers who helped craft the deficit boosting tax bill. As a moderate Republican who co-chairs the bipartisan Problem Solvers Caucus it is a bit odd for Reed to vote against a budget deal that advanced many bipartisan spending priorities.

Renacci, who is running for Senate and hopes to take on incumbent Ohio Democrat Sherrod Brown, said the bill did not help put the country on a path of a fiscal sustainability. Like Reed, he is on the Ways and Means Committee that helped write tax bill.

--Sponsored Video--

Renacci's primary opponent, Mike Gibbons, came out against the budget deal. But Renacci has the support of the entire Ohio GOP delegation, including Sen. Rob Portman, who supported the bill.

Neither Herrera Beutler nor Ros-Lehtinen had public statements out explaining their positions.

With the measure including additional disaster relief funds for Florida, Ros-Lehtinen's opposition was a bit surprising.

Gaetz and Reps. Bill Posey, Daniel Webster and Ted Yoho are other Florida Republicans who voted against the bill. Texas Republican Reps. Joe Barton, Louie Gohmert, Jeb Hensarling and John Ratcliffe of Texas, as well as California GOP Reps. Tom McClintock, and Dana Rohrabacher also voted "no" despite their state standing to benefit from the disaster aid.


swipe to next page


blog comments powered by Disqus