Different types of DUIs and offenses can result in up to 10 years of jail time. Not all offenses are created equal.
What are the many types of offenses that can occur today? This short guide will give you the ins and outs of the range of DUI offenses that are implemented today.
Types of DUI
Driving under the influence can yield negative results including officials suspending your license, a massive fee, and even time in jail. These DUI charges differ depending on the state in which you reside.
In certain states, such as Georgia or Pennsylvania, an existing DUI charge can add to the offense. Since these penalties are increasing in severity, you should familiarize yourself with these different types of DUI.
If you are a first-time car buyer, your future insurance premiums will also reflect these penalties. The DUI arrest can lead to a combination of different penalties depending on the individual and the type of substance.
1. General Impairment
A general impairment DUI refers to any time when you consume too much content to prevent yourself from operating a vehicle. When your blood alcohol concentration is lower than 0.08% then authorities may charge you with a DUI.
This means the alcohol content may have enough of an effect to cause impairment of judgment and coordination. The second type of offense is a higher penalty. This refers to an official submission of a chemical test reflecting 0.08 to 0.99% BAC tally.
This offense can occur when the driver submits this average within two hours of drinking. The first offense may result in a fine of up to $400. It can also lead to up to six months of probation.
There are higher offenses when dealing with BAC penalties. Within the past two hours of vehicle operation, if your BAC reaches a level of 0.16% or higher, this can result in the highest general impairment offense.
The penalty can result in a minimum of three days in jail. But, this can also place the individual in jail for an additional six months depending on the severity of the case. These cases often involve a fine of up to $1000 or more, with the highest fine landing at around $5000.
The judge can also order special treatment for these more severe cases. But, the safety school sessions will be a requirement. In addition, a minimum 12-month suspension of your license may occur as well.
2. Minor Driving Under the Influence
A minor DUI includes any individual that is under the age of 21. If they submit a test that yields a 0.02% result or higher, within 2 hours of consumption, they will incur a penalty. This means if a minor consumes a single beer before operating a vehicle, they will incur a penalty.
The fine for driving under the influence as a minor can range from $500 to $4,000. It can also mean that, depending on the circumstances, a driver can spend a few nights or even up to six months in jail.
A potential suspension of your license can occur for up to 12 months. It can also mean that an individual will need to attend a 12 week long or more class. In addition, the judge can choose to file 100 hours or more of community service to add to the penalty.
Minors with their first car should know about these more severe consequences. The severity of these laws is intending to reduce neglectful deaths among the younger generation.
In many states, there is a low tolerance issue when it comes to minors under the influence. Many minors are ignorant to the fact that a charge can lead to losing their newfound license for over a year.
3. School Bus or Commercial Driver DUI
Any driver of a commercial vehicle or school bus may have a charge despite a lower BAC level. This includes anyone operating a vehicle with a commercial vehicle tag. Within two hours of consumption, BAC levels marked at 0.04% will result in a penalty.
This can lead to 24 to 48 hours of jail time. It can also include a suspension of your license for up to 12 months. The fine can rise to $400 to $5,000 in fees from fines.
Similar to other DUIs, the judge can order up to 100-150 hours worth of community service. In addition, they can require the individual to take a safety class as well. The judge can also require the driver to attend a professional treatment class and return with signed reports.
4. DUI from Controlled Substances
Different drugs are classified under different tiers. These tiers include Schedule I to Schedule III. For each type of DUI under a controlled substance, they rank among these three tier levels.
Any amount of schedule I drug can result in a penalty. If you are not prescribed a schedule III drug, it will also result in a DUI offense. Testing positive for these substances does not include a threshold similar to a BAC test.
Any amount of this material will result in an offense in the same ranking as the highest possible BAC penalty. The DUI does not change if you restrict the usage.
This can happen despite having a severe impairment issue. A functioning individual will still have a chance of incurring a charge. Aside from general driver safety, knowing your rights can help aid in the situation if you are pulled over for DUI.
If you ever find yourself in an incident, familiarize yourself with the potential consequences that may occur. If you are unknowing of these penalties, you may find yourself with more penalties.
Consult with a professional with a history of vehicular cases to help understand your situation. Knowing your rights will help deliver a just cause and enforce driver safety.
Follow our blog for more information on DUI offenses and how to maintain driver safety!