Golf / Sports

Firestone's percentage of major winners unsurpassed

Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio doesn't just draw an elite field, with every member of the top 50 in the world rankings expected to play in this week's $9 million World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational.

The event also produces a list of champions that have major victories in their past or future.

Since 1994, Hunter Mahan is the only Bridgestone Invitational winner not to have captured a major, either before or after his victory on Firestone's South Course.

According to PGA Tour research, since 1999, those who have claimed the top prize at the Bridgestone Invitational have totaled a higher percentage of major championships than any other tournament on the tour.

In that span, which does not include 2002 when Craig Parry won at Sahalee Country Club, 12 of 13 Bridgestone champions have won majors. The next closest tournament is the Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines (12 of 15), followed by the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill (10 of 15).

The World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship has 13-of-15 winners, but has been held at seven different courses since 1999.

Eight victories at Firestone by Tiger Woods, a 14-time major champion, lead the list of Bridgestone winners. Others adding to the major total from Akron are Darren Clarke (2003 Bridgestone, 2011 British Open), Adam Scott (2011, 2013 Masters), Keegan Bradley (2012, 2011 PGA Championship), Vijay Singh (2008, 1998 and 2004 PGA, 2000 Masters) and Stewart Cink (2004, 2009 British Open).

(c)2014 Akron Beacon Journal (Akron, Ohio)

Visit the Akron Beacon Journal (Akron, Ohio) at

Distributed by MCT Information Services


blog comments powered by Disqus